Breakfast at Caravan, Kings Cross

Having never before really explored Kings Cross, it was with some trepidation that I followed my extremely inadequate new Apple Map (Thanks software upgrade) all the way round to Caravan.  What a surprise!  Fountain jets, wide open spaces and a marvellous new restaurant!

Hailing from the Antipodean isles (NZ to be specific), I’m no stranger to the Brunch that has taken on trend status in my new adopted town.   So, it seemed only right that I check out their coffee making skills and have some corn fritters.

Feeling slightly gluttonous, I ordered not only the Mocha but also the Carrot, Orange & Ginger juice (Extra ginger please) but also contemplated the Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate.  However, this was a work breakfast so I consoled myself with the thought that I’d be back.

At Caravan, the standard Antipodean fare of Corn Fritters comes with an added ingredient – Morcilla (or blood sausage).  This turned out to be a disappointment – I simply could not taste what the Morcilla added to the entire corn fritter experience.

The fritters were a tad (Smidgen really) on the dry side, but well balanced by the avocado, leaves and creme fraiche.  Had it not been for the promise of Morcilla, I would have been perfectly satisfied… but I expected an additional flavour that I did not get.

The restaurant was pretty quiet and we were able to grab a comfy table on the couches (to be fair it was 9am on a Wednesday) and I can only too well imagine it would get heaving on the weekend.

Would I be back? Yes probably, but next time I’m trying the Jalapeno corn bread.  Oh yes, and the salt caramel hot chocolate.

Caravan Kings Cross on Urbanspoon

Square Meal

What do you think?

